Note N9512 Index
In the 1920 Census, Annie states that she was employed as a housekeeper for a private family in Ashland. Her death was caused by bronchial pneumonia.
Note N9518 Index
Wilfred appears to have preferred to be known by his middle name, "Mark." He was a trapper, trapping wild game in the northern Maine woods. Mark and Annie divorced sometime between 1910 and 1920. In the 1920 Census, they are living separately (young Maurice is with Annie), and they both indicate that they are divorced.
Note N9522 Index
Millie was the Enumerator of the 1920 U.S.Census of Ashland.
Note N9525 Index
Benjamin and Mary were among the very earliest settlers of Ashland. He was a farmer. They had a total of 10 children.
Note N9531 Index
Herbert was an automobile mechanic. Following their marriage, he and Irma lived at Milo, Maine, Ludlow, Massachusetts, and San Diego, California.
Note N9541 Index
Daniel was a dairyman. He and Ione had four children.
Note N9547 Index
Thomas was a farmer in Augusta, Maine.
Note N9556 Index
William was a railroad worker.
Note N9559 Index
Jacob was a garage mechanic in Biddeford, Maine.
Note N9560 Index
Linwood worked at a cemetery in Biddeford, Maine.
Note N9574 Index
LLewellyn worked for an insurance agency, as manager of the Portland office.
Note N9575 Index
Franklin owned and operated a printing company in Portland, Maine.
Note N9579 Index
Ansyl was a farmer in Freeport, Maine. He died in some sort of accident.
Note N9584 Index
At some point, Charles left Addie and returned to Boston. She is listed in the 1880 Census of Andover, living with her father (NARA Microcopy T-9, Roll 484, Page 20C), but Charles is not. In June of 1884, it was reported that they had become managers of a hunting camp (Camp Kennebago) at Indian Rock, north of Rangeley in Franklin County (News item, "Oxford Democrat," South Paris, Maine, 10 June 1884).
Apparently they never divorced, but remained separated for the rest of their lives. Charles is listed in the 1910 Census of Boston (NARA Microcopy T624, Roll 618, Vol. 116, E.D. 1435, Page 150A). There, he indicates that he was still married, and had been for 35 years. He gives his occupation as "clerk, elevated road." In 1920, he was living with their son Joshua in Wilmington, Vermont. In 1930, he was living alone, working as a janitor (NARA Microcopy T626, Roll 2432, E.D. 13-35, Page 277A).
Note N9585 Index
Dick was born in Michigan, but grew up in Andover, Maine. It is supposed that he was named after a childhood sweetheart of Addie's, Wallace Richards. His middle name, Dickerson, most likely came from relatives of Addie's in Hudson, Michigan, with whom she was staying when Dick was born. The origin of the Nevel name is unknown.
His marriage to Susie lasted only 9 years. They were divorced 7 February 1931 (MAINE DIVORCE RECORDS [Maine State Archives] Roll 5, Vol. 20, Page 189, Line 13).
Dick Nevel is regarded as being one of the heroes of Maine's mining history. His name is associated with several of the gem mines in the State, especially the Dunton Gem Quarry in Newry, which he re-opened in the 1920's. As did so many other gem miners, he mined for the tourmaline, quartz, feldspar and other minerals for which Oxford County, Maine, is famous. He was a well-known gems collector and dealer, traveling extensively to both discover and sell fine gems to museums and private collectors. Much about Dick is recorded in MINEROLOGY OF MAINE, Vol. 2: Mining History, Gems, and Geology (page 163-175), edited by Vandall T. King and published in 2000 by the Maine Geological Survey, Department of Conservation.
Gems at the Dunton Quarry (named for Horace C. Dunton of Rumford Falls, who once owned the mineral rights to the property) were first mined commercially about 1898. This venture lasted until 1903. Then, during 1926 and 1927, the General Electric Company engaged Dick's services to supervise a mining venture aimed at the recovery of pollucite which was in great demand as an ore of cesium, which was used in the manufacture of radio tubes and photo-electric cells. This operation was successful, not only because of the polucite recovered for GE, but, more importantly, because of the other gems discovered to exist at the Dunton Quarry. After GE's venture ended in 1927, Dick continued to work the mine, recovering tons of pollucite and other minerals.
His discoveries of an amazing assortment of mineral varieties made a tremendous impact on the scientific world. News of these finds traveled far and wide, and attracted several gem collectors to the quarry. One such collector, George Holman of Vermont, described the quarry as "a kaleidoscope of color, and it seemed as though specimens suitable for any cabinet were at every hand. Surely this was a collector's dream come true" (Jane C. Perham, C.G., MAINE'S TREASURE CHEST, GEMS AND MINERALS OF OXFORD COUNTY [West Paris, ME: Quicksilver Publications, 1987] 126-131).
Mining for gems is not like mining for coal, where men descend hundreds of feet underground to recover the deposits of coal. Gem miners must crawl into openings between the quarry's rock formations, and chisel away at the deposits they find. Gems are also recovered through the use of dynamite blasting. The charges reduce the rock formations to rubble, which is dug into and sifted through to find the gems within. It was a dynamite charge, which exploded prematurely, that caused the death of Dick Nevel.